Life, Uncategorized

Loving List – Thankful Version

These two little scenes have been making me happy all week while I’m working at my desk: a pretty glass and a pitcher of water with cucumber slices and the shelf above my desk that has a vintage postcard of the center of my tiny Maine town, an old photo of a French stranger strolling a beach boardwalk, and some pretty stones I’ve dragged back with me from some trip (I always bring home rocks. Poor Romain.). And I truly feel lucky even for these little details of things that can put a smile on my face, make me feel at home. So I thought this week’s loving list, should be a thankful list for the holiday. It also prompted me to dig through pictures back to 2007 – how much happens in so little time!

  • I’m thankful for this guy, Romain. My husband. The guy that laughs with me as we imitate foo dogs and who doesn’t bat an eyelash when I’m dripping with sarcasm (it’s genetic! I swear!) and who is so gentle and patient with me. How did I get so lucky?

  • I’m thankful for these rings he put on my finger and what they represent. I don’t think there’s a day that goes by that I don’t love being married more. We’re on this adventure together. (Picture taken the day after our wedding)

  • I am thankful for these two – the best parents anyone could dream of. They gave me a dream childhood that I never wanted to grow out of (and still don’t!) and encouraged a free and creative spirit in me. All the best of me, comes from them.

  • I am thankful for my Maine. My home. It always was, it always will be. I grew up in magic; this land was my third parent. I would not be who I am without that salty and rough water and those strong, fragrant trees. My roots will forever stretch from that ground.

  • And I am thankful for these two: Molly, my first cat, who was very patient and loving from when we adopted her when I was 7, to 20 years later when she had to leave. I’ll always feel a rush of sadness that I wasn’t with her to see her go, it still makes me cry, but I’ll be forever grateful for the time she spent with us. She was indeed a soul-mate, a furry version of a sibling I didn’t have. And for Albert (and his doppelgänger that my mother bought him). He is silly and playful and loving. He doesn’t always escape the influence of his unhappy first four years but my heart is full knowing that he is truly happy crawling into our laps after dinner and chasing the paper balls we toss for him. That he knows he can trust us to keep him safe. And that he is, for both R. and I, a second chance at having that kind of connection in our lives.

So I hope your Thanksgiving was joyful and loving. May you carry the spirit of it through the whole holiday season. And Happy weekend!

xo,

A.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Loving List – Thankful Version

  1. This post really touched my heart. I am so thankful for my generous parents who gave me roots to grow and wings to fly, for my English husband and the new life he has given me, for our lovely cat who chose us rather than living feral as he began and for each and every day I have to enjoy these blessings! And for lovely people like you, who also understand the value of these gifts!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • So sweet! What a wonderful list of things to be thankful for. It’s it wonderful to know there are so many people out there who appreciate everyday beauty. Hope your Thanksgiving was lovely!

  2. Marija says:

    Your post brought tears to my eyes, Abby. You always manage to bring such beauty into your life. Your husband is fabulous (and handsome!), your parents are wonderful, and of course, we both love Maine. You are my kindred spirit in hauling rocks home from vacations. Robert once carried about 15 pounds of rocks from Chesil Beach in England once for me. 🙂

    • Thank you, Marija, that is so kind of you! It’s so nice to know I have a kindred spirit in my rock obsession! I recently was picking up a couple along a waterway and said to Romain “Wait! I don’t have enough rocks!” and he said “Yes! You do!” 😉 But he still helps me drag them home. That’s love, huh?

Leave a Reply

