Food & Recipes

Lime & Lavender Coconut Macaroons for Dessert

I kind of wish I made desserts more often. Does that sound strange? It may seem like I already do with with posts like this. But the reality is that I often don’t have anything sweet after dinner. I do, however, often wish for a little sweet after dinner. Not something extravagant, that’s not really my style. But something small and interesting and home-y.

One of the reasons that I don’t have something like that around all the time is that I’m the usually the only one who will eat a dessert – R. doesn’t really like sweets (he makes exceptions for brownies and sometimes chocolate chip cookies or chocolate ice cream) and neither does the cat. Surprising, I know.

Last weekend I got it into my head to make coconut macaroons, though. I remember going with my mother when I was little to a café and bakery where I always got a big macaroon. They were wonderfully moist and slightly golden on the top and packed with chewy bits of coconut. A real treat.

So I made some. Dainty little ones just right for three of four bites. And I flavored them with fresh lime zest and bright lavender-infused sugar. When they were still warm from the oven I spooned some lime simple syrup over each one. They are divine. And here’s the thing: they require four ingredients and almost zero time. There is no reason not to have these around for a little sweet after dinner. You can leave out the simple syrup step if you want it even simpler but I’m going to go out on a (pretty sturdy) limb here and say if you do do it, you’ll be glad you did.

Lime & Lavender Coconut Macaroons

2 cups desiccated coconut

2 egg whites

1/2 cup lavender infused sugar*

zest of one lime

Lime Simple Syrup

1/4 cup granulated sugar

juice of one lime and enough water to make 1/4 cup

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F / 180°C. In a mixing bowl, combine the coconut, egg whites, sugar, and zest until well combined.

2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Grab a small bowl of water and moisten your hands to form the macaroons. Spoon a heaping tablespoon of coconut mixture into your hand and roll with a little pressure into a bowl. Flatten it slightly and place it on the baking sheet. Continue until all the coconut mixture is used up.

3. Bake for 10 to 15 minutes or until they start to have touches of golden coloring around the edges. Remove from the oven.

4. While the macaroons are baking, combine the sugar, lime juice, and any water needed to bring the lime juice to 1/4 cup in a small saucepan. Heat over medium heat until the sugar has dissolved and made a thin syrup. When the macaroons are out of the oven cooling, spoon 1 teaspoon, or more to your liking, over each warm cookie.

*Lavender infused sugar is easy to make: simply fill a clean jar with granulated sugar and bury a few stems of lavender inside and cover tightly. Let it infuse for at least a week or two, but as long as you like, before using.

enjoy,

A.

Standard

8 thoughts on “Lime & Lavender Coconut Macaroons for Dessert

  1. eastofedencook says:

    My mom made macaroons but they were tooth achingly sweet. The addition of lavender and lime is brilliant! Scrumptious photos!

  2. What if you actually put lavender in them like Beach Pea’s lavender shortbread cookies; Would that be weird? I’m only wondering because I’m not sure I can wait 2 weeks for my lavender infused sugar to eat these…

    • I think that would work! Just don’t know how much you should try. I would either bash it up really well in a mortar & pestle or blitz it in a food processos with the sugar. Anyway, we’re not afraid of eating lavender, are we? Give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

